Thread: E-cigarettes may be included in ban (Indianapolis)

Hybrid View

Default E-cigarettes may be included in ban (Indianapolis)

So they are basing there understanding of E-cigaretts on faulty data.
    Eample:
    http://rodutobaccotruth.blogspot.com...igarettes.html
    http://youtu.be/oSFaLUZ2rf4
    “How’s that hopey/changey thingy working out for you?”
    http://youtu.be/7T4BUzzUJNg

Dr. Siegel's letter to the Indianapolis City Council . . .

Subject: Clearing the Air About Electronic Cigarettes

Dear Members of the Indianapolis City Council:

I am a professor, tobacco control researcher, and smoke-free air advocate at the Boston University School of Public Health. I am a physician with more than 25 years of experience in the area of tobacco science research. I have published numerous articles on the dangers of secondhand smoke and have testified throughout the nation in support of 100% smoke-free bars and restaurants. I am writing to correct some misinformation that has been circulating about the health risks associated with electronic cigarettes.

At the Rules and Public Policy Committee meeting on April 3rd, several councilmembers asserted that the FDA has detected cancer-causing agents in electronic cigarette vapor, and that therefore, these devices pose a cancer risk to users and potentially, to bystanders as well. This assertion is misleading. The truth is that the FDA detected only trace levels of carcinogens in electronic cigarettes. The level of these carcinogens was comparable to that present in all other nicotine delivery devices, including the nicotine patch and nicotine gum. The reason why products like the nicotine patch and nicotine gum contain trace levels of carcinogens (known as tobacco-specific nitrosamines) is that the nicotine is derived from tobacco, and it is impossible to obtain 100% pure nicotine from this process. There are going to inevitably be trace levels of tobacco-specific nitrosamines.